A Fevered Muse’s Plot Bunnies

I’m sure most of you have heard about the controversial flu vaccine this year that is ill equipped to tackle a certain version of the H3N2 virus. It’s only around 25% effective. I’ve been diligent about getting a flu shot for around the last fifteen years. I had yet to catch the flu even when the very contagious “Chinese Flu” went around and all my co-workers were collapsing around me. But not this time. The flu vaccine failed and I’m one of the people that caught the flu this year.

Has anyone known a person to come down with a cold and flu at the same time? I didn’t think it was possible but now I’m living proof that one can. First, I have to back up a bit. Right after New Year’s I caught a cold and it took me a while to recover from it. I was still not up to strength when the second cold hit me at the start of this vacation. I could pretty much push my way through the cold and still go about my day, taking it easy in the evenings and about four days later I was finally feeling better. Great! Short cold I’ll be back on my feet in no time and I can enjoy the rest of the vacation. Then, that very evening, Wham! Knocked to the ground with a fever.

For four days I lay feverish in bed in this hotel room while the rest of my family members went out enjoying the area’s sights. I could only eat when the fever subsided and I was more in the throes of the cold. It was strange how the cold brought on certain symptoms and the flu others, neither exhibiting the same ones.

Anyway, today I awoke feeling like my fever broke. I’m still tired, but I might be able to take a short trip out for lunch and I can sit at my laptop and type for an extended period of time without feeling like I’m going to do a face plant on my keyboard from exhaustion.

I can finally write down my Muses’s plot bunnies that came to me as I lay feverish in bed. Not surprisingly the plot bunnies are darker and more paranormal than my contemporary romantic HEA fics I like to write. I’m not sure I particularly care for my muse’s sense of humor in throwing plot bunnies at me while I’m sick. Sure I love the plot bunnies, but I didn’t have the energy to write them down at the time and put more extensive energy into following the plot along. So for the moment, they shall remain small bunnies until I am fully recovered from this cold/flu thing I’ve got.

In the meantime I’m trying to figure out how to work this experience into a story. It would really be a waste if I couldn’t.

Stay well everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under illness, plot bunnies

Leave a Reply

