“The brunet”, “the blond”, and “the younger man” are ruining your books! And here’s why! #epithets #makeitstop

I’ve almost DNF’d books with too many epithets. A few I can look past, but too many and my eyes start to roll. Read this excellent blog post by author Leta Blake and you’ll find out why, ‘the younger man’ or ‘the tattooed blond,’ is not the way to go.

Leta Blake

I DNFed two books this week because I couldn’t deal with the authors’ wild overuse of epithets. One was self-published and the other was published by a press, so this isn’t just a self-pub thing. Authors, beta readers, editors, please, for the love of all that is holy, understand that epithets are unnecessary about 99% of the time. Every single time you use one, ask yourself, “Is this necessary?” I promise that the answer is nearly always no.

I googled looking for an explanation so that I wouldn’t have to actually write up everything myself. I found one on Tumblr that I’ll share here. Yes, it’s about fan fiction, but, dudes, this applies to all writing. Published work is actually expected to be held to a higher standard than fanfic most of the time, am I right?

GO READ THE ENTIRE POST but I am going to just cut and paste in…

View original post 460 more words

2 Comments

Filed under reblog, Uncategorized

2 responses to ““The brunet”, “the blond”, and “the younger man” are ruining your books! And here’s why! #epithets #makeitstop

  1. I got called on doing this exact thing by my editor at NineStar — thanks for sharing this post, KC!

    • You’re welcome, Gillian! Yes, I’m afraid epithets are one of my pet peeves when I review, but I also realize how easy it is to use them. It just takes awareness and practice not to use them.

Leave a Reply

